28 February 2008

Predictions 2008 is Go!


Welcome to the new home of Predictions. What with the problems last year with the website (lack of internet connection, and more to the point, money) I'm switching the game back to a blog format. This worked fine back in 2005 and should make things a lot easier to update. The site has been thrown together fairly quickly since the start of the season is pretty close, so some things will change/be added as we go.

Full results and final championship standings for the 2007 season are now posted below. A big congratulations to new champion Karan, taking the title for Renault in his third season. Well done, mate!

Soooo, its about that time of year again when I start gathering the troops. Last years players have all been emailed with a link to this site, so if you played Predictions in 2007 and would like to sign up for another season, you're welcome to join.

Newcomers are also welcome, although places are limited and existing players will take priority. That said, I often need stand-ins and replacements, so by all means join up.

To join the game for the 2008 season, just email me and let me know you're interested: kohlstream13@hotmail.com

NOTE - You do not need to register to Blogger to join. You will still be able to comment on posts without being a Blogger member.

The rules are the same as always. You can find a summary below or via a link on the sidebar.

I'll keep a list in this post of people that have signed up and keep it updated as frequently as I can, and hopefully by the time Australia rolls around, we'll have a full line up of 22.

Confirmed to play:
1. Atomic, GBR (2002 - 08)
2. Karan, CAN (2005 - 08, 2007 Champion)
3. Mary J, GBR (2007 - 08)
4. Montie, DEN (2005 - 08)
5. Badboy, CAN (2003 - 08)
6. Sandeep, IND (2002 - 08)
7. Forever_R5, USA (2004 - 08)
8. Berkem, TUR (2005 - 08)
9. IceMan, GBR (2005 - 08)
10. Hoellsen, GER (2002 - 08)
11. Fisichella, NED (2005 - 08)
12. Luigi, BEL (2007 - 08)
13. Bommer, USA (2004 - 08)
14. UnclePeJa, USA (2005 - 08)
15. SGP, GRE (2003 - 08, 2005 Champion)
16. Ghost, AUS (2007 - 08)
17. Wooze, GBR (2005 -08)
18. LoudHoward, AUS (2007 - 08)
19. NEA, RSA (2002 - 08)
20. Kai-Star, AUS (2007 - 08)
21. Revs, GER (2002 - 08, 2002 Champion)
22. AndySly88 (New in 2008)

This Formula 1 season looks set to be fascinating and I look forward to competing with you all once more.


The Rules

Last updated: March 27th 2009

Here's a quick overview of the rules.

Playing the game

The rules for GP Predictions are very simple. Players predict the results of Grands Prix and are awarded points based on how close their guesses are to the real results. The points format remains the same as it has done since the game started in 2002.

Players must predict the following results of each Grand Prix (via the online entry form), and the points awarded are as follows:

Pole Position - 2pts for a correct prediction

The top six finishers in the race - 3pts for a correct predicton, 2pts for one out, 1pt for two out

Fastest Lap - 2pts for a correct prediction

One DNF - 1pt for a correct prediction

Thats a possible maximum of 23pts per round. Obviously the player with the most points each round is the round winner; the player with the most points at the end of the season is the champion. No surprises there...

In the event of more than one player having the highest score in a round, the one with the most '3-pointers' is declared the winner. Failing that, the most '2-pointers' and so on. In the event of a total deadlock, the player with the higher championship position is awarded the win.

The deadline for each round is the moment the first practice session starts on the Friday of the GP weekend (Thursday for Monaco). Players may update their entry as many times as they like up to this time.

Reminders are sent out to all players via email every Monday before a Grand Prix weekend.

Any driver that fails to finish the race counts as a DNF. That is to say, they do not have to start the race; they must simply be entering the Grand Prix weekend at the time of the deadline. If a driver is substituted after the deadline, it counts as a DNF. If a driver completes a sufficient race distance to be a classified finisher, he does not count as a DNF. Points are only awarded for unclassified drivers.

The teams

The teams the players compete for have no bearing on the game whatsoever - its just for fun. New for the 2009 season is the introduction of a bid-based team allocation system so that success takes you closer to the team you most want to be with.

In brief, players submit a list of the teams at the start of the season from most desired to least. The reigning champion gets first choice and seats are then allocated in order of GP and Championship wins (ie, the number of trophies).

Players that finish in the top eight in the championship and/or win more than once have the right to keep their team for the following season should they wish. Nobody can take a seat that has been claimed this way.

So in simple terms, the more you win, the more bidding power you have.

27 February 2008

Predictions 2007 Results

So then, here are the complete results of Predictions 2007, including all 17 round results and championship tables.

Click on an image to view full size.